HeaderBox1

Welcome
to Pandora

By the hands of the Gods, you have been plucked from your time and from your world, dropped into the box. Only the box is a world of its own.

We are a mass crossover based on the concept of Pandora's Box. Characters from nearly any fandom can be played here. Because of the endless character possibilities, we are canon only here at Pandora. Take a peek at our rules and plot information before starting your new life in Pandora.

Spotlight

Story Hub Banner

Want to add a quote? Submit them here!
 
  1. Welcome to Pandora! We are a pan-fandom, play-by-post roleplay.
    New Player's Guide | Canon List | FAQ | Questions
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Elevated high above Pandora Town is the futuristic, whimsical Orbit City. Make sure to visit while it's still here!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Exact doppelgangers of Pandora citizens are appearing out of nowhere, seemingly at random. Read more about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Pandora is searching for staff.
    Click here for more information!

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use canon NPCs in my threads?

To be fair to future players who may be interested in playing these characters, no. We will not be allowing the use of canon NPCs in threads. All NPCs used in threads should be original. Exceptions are made for pets, companion creatures and young children that may have been pulled in with the character, but these should be included in the application prior to roleplay.
#12

Are status messages posted on StarkNet? Are they board canon or not?

Posting a status message with your character account tends to be played as posting a message to Pandora's social media site (StarkBook). However, these status messages default to being 100% OOC. They are not to be used to inform IC events or roleplay. You can use status messages as inspiration for threads, but information from statuses should not be used directly in threads and should not influence IC opinions.
#28

Can I roleplay a character who died in their canon?

Actually, it depends. A rule of thumb is that, if the character has not come back after death in some form or other in their canon, they cannot be brought to Pandora after they died.

However, some exceptions to this are if the character is already dead in their canon, such as Annie Sawyer in Being Human, who is a ghost since the beginning of the series. Or, if they die at some point in their canon and make more than a few appearances after their death, one such example being Bobby Singer in Supernatural, who lingered on as a ghost for several episodes before he moved on.

Only stick to what is portrayed in canon, however. If your character remained dead, they cannot be brought into Pandora past that point. If you are unsure whether you can apply for a character after their death, feel free to ask us in our Questions & Suggestions forum.
#31

If I apply for a character past their last point in canon, how far ahead into the future can I take them from?

While you can take a character from any point in their canon you want to, if you are taking a character after their last appearance in canon, you can only take them up to two weeks maximum after that point.
#30

Does my character need to arrive in Pandora by a certain date?

Characters can arrive on any date as long as it occurs during the site's current season.
#14

Do I have to take my character from around the same time as their previously established canonmates?

Nope! You can take them from whenever you'd like to take them from. Canon timelines stay 100% intact regardless of whether or not canonmates are or ever have been here, so it doesn't mess around with the continuity at all.
#25

What’s the purpose of re-apps?

Re-apps serve many purposes, the most common of them being that you want to update your application after you realized you left something out, or there are sections of it that you want to improve on.

Another common reason for re-apps is to add to or detract from your character’s skills. We require that any changes in skills, such as a character changing into a vampire, undergo a re-app before you continue posting with the updated skills so that we can gauge the power level of the character.

You might even want to re-app your character if you want to take them from a different canon point entirely. While this only requires updating the history to match, your character will be reset. This means that they will re-enter Pandora and be given a fresh start, and that you cannot continue any past threads.
#11

What’s the general power level accepted for characters?

Unfortunately, this is a difficult question to answer. We have no defined limits as there are so many different characters with different capabilities and powers. We don’t base things purely on a character’s power level, but what they’re capable of doing with their abilities. Practice discretion when applying for a powerful character and power them down where you see fit. If you're still unsure about a character's ability, feel free to add it in your app and Staff will determine whether it is acceptable for Pandora or not.
#9

Can I bring in items from my character’s canon?

Yes! However, we ask that you run them by Staff before writing the items into the world, as any such item may require a re-app of the character before it can be used in threads.
#15

If the character I’m considering is very tiny (or very large), would Pandora keep their height or make them more “normal” sized?

Your character would remain whatever their canon size is. For example, if you applied for Thumbelina, then she would only be an inch or two.
#13

Can my character be pulled in with an item another character in Pandora already has? For example, Harry Potter's Invisibility Cloak?

Yes. Since Pandora pulls in characters from the same world but different canon points, sometimes there are duplicates of items. Just as long as these items are not world-breaking, or have some sort of consciousness that makes them NPCs, they should be good to go!

If you're still unsure whether your item qualifies, just ask us in the Questions & Suggestions forum.
#33

What do I do if my character is aware that another character is fictional?

While it’s perfectly fine for your character to be aware that another is a character from another fandom, we advise against breaking the fourth wall too much. You can reference the fact that they’re fictional in the post itself, but you would need permission from the player to explore that fact through dialogue.
#8
FAQ Manager ©2018 Iversia from RPGfix.